SENSE OF THE BOARD RESOLUTION HONORING FRANCES LANE ON HER SERVICE AND DEDICATION TO THE CITY OF STAMFORD

WHEREAS, Frances Lane has been a lifelong resident of Stamford, growing up on the West Side and other neighborhoods, went to Stamford public schools, and raised two children here; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane earned a Bachelor's Degree in Chemistry from Fairfield University in 1977, a Master's Degree in Pharmaceutics from Long Island University in 1983, and an ADA Coordinator Certification from the University of Missouri in 2023; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane worked in professional roles in quality control, product development, and operations management, starting her career at Clairol, moving on to Avon Products, IFF, a fragrance company, and then worked at various other places; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane had to step away from her professional career in 1997 due to her disability, enjoyed the opportunity to travel, lived in Utah and Texas, and returned to Stamford to live, becoming very active in local government; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane started regularly attending Charter Oaks Board and Commission meetings in 2018, Board of Representatives meetings in 2019, and was chosen by Mayor David Martin to sit on the Affordable Housing Trust Fund in 2021; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane was chosen to sit on the Charter Revision Commission in 2022, was a member of two sub-committees, and attended over 100 meetings of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane has been a strong advocate for accessibility for Stamford's city websites and services, bringing much needed attention to this issue; and

WHEREAS, Frances Lane has the opportunity to move close to her daughter and grandchildren in St. Paul, Minnesota and is looking forward to being involved in the local government.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the 31st Board of Representatives honors Frances Lane on her service and dedication to the City of Stamford and wishes her success in her new city.

Approved by the 31 st Board of Representatives this 3 rd day of September, 2024	
Jeff Curtis, President	Megan Cottrell, Clerk