31ST BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES CITY OF STAMFORD

President
JEFF CURTIS
Clerk of the Board
MEGAN COTTRELL

Majority Leader
NINA SHERWOOD

Minority Leader
MARY L. FEDELI

MINUTES

President Curtis called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m.

President Curtis read the call of the meeting:

We, the undersigned members of the 31st Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford, Connecticut, and pursuant to Section C2-10-4 of the Stamford Charter, hereby call a Special Meeting of said Board of Representatives at the following time and place:

Wednesday, July 5, 2023 7:00 p.m.

by computer, tablet, or smartphone at https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81470541826
or at www.zoom.com – Webinar ID: 814 7054 1826
or by telephone at 1-646-558-8656 Webinar ID: 814 7054 1826

to consider and act upon the following:

1. RESOLUTION; to the Governor Regarding Public Act 23-205. 06/28/23 – Submitted by Rep. Sherwood

The call of meeting was signed by Reps. Sherwood, Boeger, Tomas, Campbell, Bewkes, Pierre-Louis, Berns, Stella, Garst, Figueroa, Cottrell, David Watkins, Roqueta, Coleman, Moore, Adams, de la Cruz; Walston, Dakary Watkins, Summerville, Pavia, and Saftic.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG: Led by President Jeff Curtis.

ROLL CALL: Conducted by Clerk of the Board Megan Cottrell. There were 38 members present and 2 members absent or excused (Reps. Adams, Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, Curtis, de la Cruz, Fedeli, Figueroa, Garst, Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Jacobson, Ley, Matheny, Mays, Miller, Moore, Morson, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Roqueta, Saftic, Sandford, Shaw, Sherwood, Shinn, Stella, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, Dakary Watkins, David Watkins, and Weinberg were present; Reps., Pollack, and Jean-Louis were absent). Rep. Pollack joined the meeting at 9:05 p.m. for a total of 39 members present and 1 member absent or excused.

PRESENTATION: Rep. Sherwood

APPROVED BY A ROLL CALL VOTE 24-14-1

A motion to approve the resolution was made and seconded.

1.

Rep. Weinberg raised a point of order regarding limiting the scope of the discussion on this matter as to whether the resolution urging the Governor should be approved. President Curtis ruled that the point of the discussion is to explain why the resolution is being written to the Governor.

A motion to appeal this ruling was made and seconded. The vote to uphold the President's ruling was made, seconded, and approved by a vote of 24-11-1 (Reps. Adams, Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, de la Cruz, Fedeli, Figueroa, Garst, Matheny, Moore, Patterson, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Roqueta, Sherwood, Stella, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, Dakary Watkins, and David Watkins in favor; Reps. Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Jacobson, Ley, Mays, Miller, Morson, Sandford, Shaw, and Weinberg opposed; Rep. Curtis abstaining).

The motion to approve the resolution was approved by a vote of 24-14-1 (Reps. Berns, Bewkes, Boeger, Campbell, Coleman, Cottrell, Curtis, de la Cruz, Fedeli, Figueroa, Garst, Matheny, Moore, Pavia, Pierre-Louis, Roqueta, Sherwood, Stella, Summerville, Tomas, Walston, Dakary Watkins, and David Watkins in favor; Reps. Adams, ,Gilbride, Goldberg, Grunberger, Jacobson, Ley, Mays, Miller, Morson, Pollack, Sandford, Shaw, and Weinberg opposed; Rep. Patterson abstaining).

ADJOURNMENT: President Curtis adjourned the meeting at 9:10 P.M.

This meeting is on video