

Personnel Committee - Board of Representatives

Susan Nabel, Chair

Mary Fedeli, Vice Chair

Committee Report

Date: Wednesday, June 28, 2017 Time: 7:00 p.m. Place: Democratic Caucus Room, 4th Floor Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, Stamford, CT

The Personnel Committee met at the above date and time. In attendance were Chair Nabel, Vice Chair Fedeli and Committee Member Reps. DePina, Figueroa, Jacobson, McMullen, Miller, Okun and Savage. Also present was Clemon Williams, H.R. Director.

Chair Nabel called the meeting to order at 7:02.

Item No.	Description	Committee Action
1. P29.086	REJECTION; Tentative Collective Bargaining Agreement with Stamford Public Health Dental Hygienists. 06/07/17 – Submitted by Clemon Williams 06/08/17 – <u>Advisory Opinion</u> by Board of Finance	Failed 0-8-1

Mr. Williams explained that the City has 4 dental hygienists; one works 52 weeks per year and the other 3 work the school year.

- Only five municipalities in the State have dental hygienists. Stamford's salaries are higher than other cities and this tentative agreement seeks to bring Stamford's salaries more in line with the market.
- Under the proposed agreement, the salaries will increase 1.5% during the first five years. The health insurance premiums will increase during the last year.
- Members will have the option of HDHP until 2019, after that it will become mandatory.
- Retired employees will have the same medical benefits plan available to them as active employees
- Part of a day taken off for sick leave will now be charged against the sick bank
- The CERF contribution has increased over the past years and new employees will go into a defined contribution plan
- Electronic deposit will be mandatory
- The estimated cost is \$25,612 for the 3 back years and \$17,289 for the next fiscal year
- The Board of Finance advisory opinion indicates that Board's wish that

employees enter the HDHP right away

A motion to reject this tentative agreement was made, seconded and failed by a vote of 0-8-1 (Reps. Nabel, Fedeli, DePina, Figueroa, Jacobson, Miller, Okun and Savage opposed; Rep. McMullen abstaining).

Chair Nabel adjourned the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Susan Nabel, Chair

This meeting is on video.