

## Regional Plan Association

Chairman Scott Rechler

Co-Chair, Advancement Committee Marcia Bateson

Co-Chair, CT Committee Michael J. Cacace

Co-Chair, NJ Committee **Hon. Jun Choi** 

Co-Chair, CT Committee
Michael J. Critelli
Vice Chair

Douglas Durst

Co-Chair, NJ Committee **Hon. James J. Florio** 

Co-Chair, Nominating & Governance Committee Timur Galen

Counsel

David Huntington

Co-Chair, NJ Committee
Paul Josephson

Co-Chair, Audit & Finance Committee **Matthew S. Kissner** 

Rohit T. Aggarwala David Armour Charles Avolio Joseph Barile Robert Billingsley Eugénie Birch Robert Blumenthal Mark Blumkin Anthony Borelli Jo Ivey Boufford Tonio Burgos Vishaan Chakrabarti Ali Chaudhry Kevin G. Chavers Frank Cohen Hon. Anthony R. Coscia Peter D'Arcy Mike DeMarco Steve Denning Lisa Diaz Susannah Drake Blair Duncan Eva Durst Winston Fisher Sarah Fitts James E. Fitzgerald Peter Glus Maxine Griffith Christopher Hahn Rachel Haot Richard J. Haray Suzanne Heidelberger Peter W. Herman Dylan Hixon Brian Hughes Kerry Hughes Sabrina Kanner Anaita Kasad Gregory A. Kelly Kyle Kimball

President & CEO
Thomas K. Wright

Co-Chair, Audit & Finance Committee **Hope Knight** 

Co-Chair, Advancement Committee **Denise Richardson** 

Co-Chair, Communications Committee

Marc Ricks

Co-Chair, Communications Committee

**Janette Sadik-Khan** Co-Chair, NY Committee

Lynne B. Sagalyn Co-Chair, NY Committee Anthony Shorris

Co-Chair, Nominating & Governance Committee Marilyn J. Taylor

Barry Langer Jill Lerner Trent Lethco Christopher Levendos Mark Marcucci **Andrew Mathias** Jan Nicholson Richard L. Oram Seth Pinsky Clint Plummer Jason Post Thomas Prendergast David Quart Hon. Richard Ravitch Gregg Rechler Michael J. Regan Denise M. Richardson James Rubin Elliot G. Sander John Santora Samuel I. Schwartz Nadir Settles Peggy Shepard Tokumbo Shobowale Anthony Shorris H. Claude Shostal Ryan Simonetti Jennifer Skyler Monica Slater Stokes Susan L. Solomon Robert K. Steel Robert Stromsted Michael Sweeney Reuben Teague Travis Terry Richard T. Thigpen Hon. Darryl Towns Jane Veron Philippe Visser Claire Weisz Kevin Willens Kate Wittels Eric Yarbro

Robert D. Yaro

## Judith Lagano New York

Mitchell Korbey

Ben Korman

One Whitehall St, 16th Floor New York, NY 10004 212.253.2727

**New Jersey** 

60 Union Street, Suite 1-N Newark, NJ 07105 179 Nassau St, 3<sup>rd</sup> floor Princeton, NJ 08542 609 228 7080

## Connecticut

Two Landmark Sq, Suite 108 Stamford, CT 06901 203.356.0390 September 2, 2020

Board of Representatives City of Stamford 888 Washington Boulevard Stamford, Connecticut 06901

RE: HCD30.016: Providing for the Creation of an Affordable Housing Trust Fund in the City of Stamford

Dear Representatives:

I am writing on behalf of Regional Plan Association in support of HCD30.016, creating a long-needed affordable housing trust fund in Stamford. This vehicle enables Stamford to implement innovative, long-term solutions to financing affordable housing, thereby reducing the historic reliance on City capital funding. In addition, the ordinance requires that Stamford prepares a comprehensive affordable housing plan to assess the community's true needs and establish objective priorities to guide funding and policy decisions.

Regional Plan Association is an independent non-profit civic organization, with Connecticut headquarters in Downtown Stamford. We develop and promote ideas and advise cities, communities and public agencies on improving the economic health, environmental resiliency, and quality of life in the NY metropolitan region. Our work is based on sound research on the environment, land use and good governance. One of our primary areas of focus is making the region more affordable for everyone, recognizing that in places like Fairfield County, there is an acute housing affordability crisis and that safe, affordable, quality housing is inaccessible to many individuals and families.

HCD30.016 will guide expenditures of the trust fund, according to the priorities and criteria established in the Affordable Housing Plan, through an appointed Board consisting of members with housing-related expertise. These decisions will ensure transparency, fairness and equity to benefit residents in the most need as opposed to the current project-by-project methodology.

We applaud members of the Housing and Community Development Committee, with support from the Land Use Bureau and the Community Development and Social Services departments, for advancing this forward-thinking legislation. Please do not hesitate to contact me at <a href="mailto:melissa@rpa.org">melissa@rpa.org</a> or 212.253.6502 with any questions on RPA's support for this proposal.

Respectfully,

Melissa Kaplan-Macey

Vice President, State Programs & Connecticut Director Regional Plan Association

Melin Egolan - Macey