The Organizational Meeting of the 30<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford was held Monday, December 4, 2017 at 8:00 p.m. in the Legislative Chambers of the Board of Representatives in the Government Center, 888 Washington Boulevard, Stamford, Connecticut.

## **Action Report**

- 1. CALL TO ORDER: By Mayor David R. Martin, per Charter § C3-10-11.
- **2. INVOCATION:** By Reverend Frances Sink.
- 3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG: Led by Mayor David R. Martin.
- **4. ROLL CALL:** By Legislative Officer Valerie Rosenson. There were 38 members present and 2 members absent. Reps. Adams, Aquila, Coleman, Cottrell, de la Cruz, DePina, Di Costanzo, Fedeli, Giordano, Graziosi, Jacobson, Kolenberg, Lee, Liebson, Lion, Lutz, Mahoney, Matherne, McGarry, McMullen, Michelson, Miller, Moore, Morson, Nabel, Patterson, Pendell, Pia, Pratt, Quinones, Roqueta, Saftic, Sherwood, Stella, Summerville, Wallace, Watkins and Zelinsky present; Reps. DeLuca and Figueroa absent or excused. (See Vote Record 2034).
- **5. OATH OF OFFICE**: Mayor Martin administered the Oath of Office.
  - a. The Mayor appoints two Temporary Tellers. Mayor Martin appointed Benjamin Lee and J.R. McMullen as Temporary Tellers
  - b. The Mayor entertains motions for a Temporary Chairperson. Rep. de la Cruz moved to appoint Jonathan Jacobson as Temporary Chair; said motion was seconded.
  - c. Vote is held on the election of the Temporary Chairperson. The vote to appoint Jonathan Jacobson as Temporary Chair was approved unanimously (Rep. Jacobson abstaining).

## TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON takes chair.

- Temporary Chairperson entertains motions for a Temporary Clerk.
  Rep. de la Cruz moved to appoint Elise Coleman as Temporary Clerk;
  said motion was seconded.
- b. Vote is held on election of Temporary Clerk. The vote to appoint Elise Coleman as Temporary Clerk was approved unanimously (Rep. Coleman abstaining).
- c. Adoption of Rules of Order for the 30<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives (<u>29<sup>th</sup> Board Rules</u>). Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Rules of the

29th Board of Representatives were adopted unanimously (Rep. McMullen abstaining).

- **7. NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT** of the 30<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives. Rep. Zelinsky moved to elect Matthew Quinones as President of the Board; said motion was seconded.
  - a. Vote on election of President of the Board. Matthew Quinones was unanimously approved as President of the Board (Rep. Quinones abstaining).

## **8. PRESIDENT** takes chair.

- a. President appoints two Tellers and two Alternate Tellers. President Quinones appointed Reps. Lee and McMullen as permanent tellers and Reps. Aguila and Michelson as alternate tellers.
- b. President entertains motions for a permanent Clerk of the Board. Rep. de la Cruz moved to appoint Susan Nabel as permanent Clerk of the Board; said motion was seconded.
- c. Vote on election of a permanent Clerk. The motion to approve Susan Nabel as Clerk of the Board was approved unanimously
- Clerk takes over duties.
- e. President announces the names of the Majority and Minority Leaders, who have been elected by their respective parties. President Quinones announced that the Democratic Caucus elected Rodney Pratt as its Majority Leader and Gloria DePina and Virgil de la Cruz as Deputy Majority Leaders. The Republican Caucus elected Mary Lisa Fedeli as its Minority Leader and Steven Kolenberg as its Deputy Minority Leader.
- f. President appoints Parliamentarians. President Quinones appointed Jonathan Jacobson and Charles Pia, Jr. as Parliamentarians.
- g. President appoints Sergeant at Arms. President Quinones appointed Philip Giordano as Sergeant at Arms.
- **9. APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES.** The President appoints members to the Standing Committees, naming the chair of each Committee first. The Committees listed below are those of the 30<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives.
  - a. Appointments Committee: (9 members) Annie M. Summerville, Chair; Dennis Patterson, Vice Chair; Anabel Figueroa, Steven Kolenberg, Alice Liebson, Raven Matherne, Marion McGarry, Charles Pia, Jr. and Rodney Pratt.

- b. Fiscal Committee: (11 members) Monica Di Costanzo, Chair; Anzelmo Graziosi, Vice Chair; Elise Coleman, Mary Fedeli, Anabel Figueroa, J.R. McMullen, Lindsey Miller, Eric Morson, Susan Nabel, Charles Pia, Jr. and Tom Pendell.
- c. Legislative & Rules Committee: (9 members) Benjamin Lee, Chair; Elise Coleman, Vice Chair; Mary L. Fedeli, Jonathan Jacobson, Bob Lion, Lindsey Miller, Susan Nabel, Charles Pia, Jr. and John R. Zelinsky.
- d. Personnel Committee: (9 members) Mary L. Fedeli, Co-Chair; Anabel Figueroa, Co-Chair; Gloria DePina, Bob Lion, J.R. McMullen, Susan Nabel, Denis Patterson, Tom Pendell and John R. Zelinsky.
- e. Land Use/URC Committee: (9 members) Virgil de la Cruz, Co-Chair; Charles Pia, Jr., Co-Chair; Megan Cottrell, Anzelmo Graziosi, Benjamin Lee, Bob Lion, Bradley Michelson, Nina Sherwood and Annie M. Summerville.
- f. Operations Committee: (9 members) Jonathan Jacobson, Chair; John R. Zelinsky, Vice-Chair; Terry B. Adams, Elise Coleman, Benjamin Lee, Dennis Mahoney, Ines Saftic, Nina Sherwood and David Watkins.
- g. Public Safety and Health Committee: (9 members) Jeffrey Stella, Chair; Eric Morson, Vice Chair; Philip Giordano, Steven Kolenberg, Diane Lutz, Raven Matherne, J.R. McMullen, Rodney Pratt and Nina Sherwood.
- h. Parks and Recreation Committee: (11 members) Dennis Mahoney, Co-Chair; Marion McGarry, Co-Chair; Marc Aquila, Virgil de la Cruz, Philip Giordano, Raven Matherne, Rodney Pratt, Ines Saftic, Jeffrey Stella, Lila Wallace and David Watkins.
- i. Education Committee: (9 members) Diane Lutz, Chair; Megan Cottrell, Vice Chair; Marc Aquila, Virgil de la Cruz, Robert "Gabe" DeLuca, Monica Di Costanzo, Jonathan Jacobson, Mavina Moore and Jeffrey Stella,
- j. Housing/Community Development/Social Services Committee: (7 members) Gloria DePina, Chair; Lila Wallace, Vice Chair; Bradley Michelson, Mavina Moore, Denis Patterson, Robert Roqueta and Ines Saftic.
- k. Transportation Committee: (7 members) Steven Kolenberg, Chair; Robert "Gabe" DeLuca, Vice-Chair; Monica Di Costanzo, Philip Giordano, Mavina Moore, Tom Pendell and Lila Wallace.
- I. State & Commerce Committee: (7 members) Lindsey Miller, Chair; Robert Roqueta, Vice-Chair; Terry Adams, Anzelmo Graziosi, Alice Liebson, Dennis Mahoney and Marion McGarry.
- m. Steering Committee: (21 members) Matthew Quinones, Rodney Pratt, Susan Nabel, Gloria G. DePina, Virgil de la Cruz, Mary L. Fedeli, Steven Kolenberg, Monica Di Costanzo, Anabel Figueroa, Jonathan Jacobson,

Steven Kolenberg, Ben Lee, Diane Lutz, Dennis Mahoney, Marion McGarry, Lindsey Miller, Rodney Pratt, Charles Pia, Jr., Jeffrey Stella and Annie Summerville.

- 10. SPECIAL COMMITTEES. The President names and appoints members to Special Committees, if necessary. President Quinones appointed Monica Di Costanzo to the WPCA; Susan Nabel and Mary Fedeli to the Unclassified Employee Sick Bank Committee; Elise Coleman to the Enterprise Zone Board, Lindsey Miller and J.R. McMullen to the Property Revaluation Review Committee; Annie Summerville and Mary L. Fedeli to OTHRA; President Quinones will serve on will serve on the Stamford Arts & Culture Commission with Steven Kolenberg. President Quinones and will also serve on CERF, SEMS, the Mill River Collaborative, the Blight Hearing Committee, the Camera Review Committee, the Food Truck Committee, the DSSD and the School Building Committee.
- **11. NEXT REGULAR BOARD MEETING.** President Quinones announced that the Regular Meeting of the 30<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives will be held on Tuesday, January 2, 2018. The Steering Committee will be meeting on Monday, December 11, 2017 and the deadline for submissions is Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 5:00 p.m.

## 12. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

This meeting is on video.