# 29<sup>TH</sup> BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES CITY OF STAMFORD

President
RANDALL M. SKIGEN
Clerk of the Board
ANNIE M. SUMMERVILLE

Majority Leader ELAINE MITCHELL Minority Leader MARY LISA FEDELI

#### **ACTION REPORT**

President Skigen called the meeting to order at 7:09 p.m.

President Skigen read the call of the meeting: "I, Randall M. Skigen, President of the 29<sup>th</sup> Board of Representatives of the City of Stamford, Connecticut, and pursuant to Section C2-10-4 of the Stamford Charter, hereby call a Special Meeting of said Board of Representatives at the following time and place:

Monday, August 8, 2016

7:00 p.m.
Legislative Chambers, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor
Government Center
888 Washington Boulevard
Stamford, CT 06904-2152

to consider and act upon the following:

1. <u>HCD29.48</u> RESOLUTION (Revising Resolution 3789);

Authorizing the Mayor to Submit the Year 42 Annual Action Plan for the Community Development Program of the City of Stamford.

06/22/16 - Submitted by Mayor Martin

07/14/16 - To be considered by Board of Finance

07/19/16 - Approved by Committee 5-0-0

08/01/16 - Not acted upon by Board of

Representatives

2. P29.076 REJECTION; Tentative Collective Bargaining

Agreement with Firefighters Local 786 IAFF.

07/08/16 - Submitted by Mayor Martin

07/14/16 - Advisory Opinion Issued by Board of

Finance

07/18/16 - Held in Committee

#### **AGENDA**

<u>I<sup>1</sup>NVOCATION</u>: Led by Clerk of the Board Summerville

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG: Led by President Randall M. Skigen

<sup>2</sup>ROLL CALL: Conducted by Clerk of the Board Annie M. Summerville. There were 24 members present and 15 absent or excused. In attendance were Reps. Cerasoli, DePina, Di Costanzo, Fedeli, Figueroa, Giraldo, Kolenberg, Liebson, McMullen, McNeil, Miller, Mitchell, Moore, Nabel, Okun, Patterson, Pratt, Quinones, Savage, Silver, Skigen, Summerville, Wallace and Zelinsky. Absent or excused were Reps. Adams, Caterbone, Coleman, Coppola, Day, de la Cruz, DeLuca, Franzetti, Giordano, Heaphy, Hoch, Mahoney, McGarry, Ryan and Watkins. There is one vacancy on the Board. See Vote Record 1912. Representatives Caterbone joined the meeting at 7:22 p.m.

### **COMMITTEE PRESENTATIONS:**

<sup>3</sup>HOUSING/COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT/

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMITTEE: Elaine Mitchell, Chair Lila Wallace, Vice Chair

Report & Video Meeting: Tuesday July 19, 2016

6:30 p.m. – Democratic Caucus Room

**APPROVED BY** 

**UNANIMOUS** 

**VOICE VOTE** 

Chair Mitchell stated that she had reported on this item at the August 1, 2016 Regular Meeting of the Board of Representatives at which no action was taken on this item. .

1. HCD29.48 RESOLUTION (Revising Resolution 3789);

Authorizing the Mayor to Submit the Year 42 Annual Action Plan for the Community Development Program of the City of Stamford.

06/22/16 - Submitted by Mayor Martin

07/14/16 - To be considered by Board of Finance

07/19/16 - Approved by Committee 5-0-0

A motion to approve Item 1 was made, seconded and approved by unanimous voice vote.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Video Time Stamp 00:01:20

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Video Time Stamp 00:04:00

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Video Time Stamp 00:07:22

<sup>4</sup>PERSONNEL COMMITTEE:

Attendance & Votes
Report & Video

Susan Nabel, Chair Mary Fedeli, Vice Chair

Meeting: Monday, August 8, 2016 5:30 p.m. – Democratic Caucus Room

Chair Nabel reported that The Personnel Committee met at the above date and time. In attendance were Chair Nabel, Vice Chair Fedeli and Committee Member Reps. DePina, McMullen, McNeil, Miller, Okun and Savage. Absent or excused was Rep. Figueroa. Also present were President Skigen; Clerk Summerville; Representatives Di Costanzo and Zelinsky; Kathryn Emmett, Corporation Counsel; Chief Trevor Roach and Assistant Chief Miguel Robles; SFD; and Brendan Keatley, Local 786.

1. P29.076

REJECTION; Tentative Collective Bargaining Agreement with Firefighters Local 786 IAFF. 07/08/16 – Submitted by Mayor Martin 07/14/16 – Advisory Opinion Issued by Board of Finance 07/18/16 – Held in Committee 0-6-2

FAILED BY MACHINE VOTE 0-21-4

A motion to reject Item No. 1 was made, seconded and failed by a machine vote of 0-21-4. (Reps. DePina, Di Costanzo, Fedeli, Figueroa, Giraldo, Kolenberg, Liebson, McNeil, Miller, Mitchell, Moore, Nabel, Patterson, Pratt, Quinones, Savage, Silver, Skigen, Summerville, Wallace and Zelinsky opposed; Reps. Caterbone, Cerasoli, McMullen and Okun abstaining). See Vote Record 1913.

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

President Skigen adjourned the meeting at 7:24 p.m.

This meeting is on video.

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Video Time Stamp 00:08:18